If You’ve Been Arrested

If you are stopped by a police officer and are suspected of being under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the police officer may ask you to take some field sobriety tests including heel-to-toe, finger-to-nose, one-leg stand, an eye test called “horizontal gaze nystagmus test”, alphabet recitation and others.

Read More

What Happens Next

With the increasingly strict DUI laws, it is now easier than ever to be arrested for a DUI. Most people charged with DUI are not reckless or irresponsible. They are reputable individuals who made a mistake in judgment and got caught. In fact, according to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, one in seven people with a Minnesota driver’s license have a DUI.

Read More

The Cost of a DUI

For a first offense DUI with no aggravating factors such as an accident or property damage, the true monetary cost to someone who is charged with a DUI has been estimated to be between $10,000 and $20,000. Typical costs include court fines, license reinstatement fees, attorney’s fees, ignition interlock fees and increased insurance premiums.

Read More

Criminal Penalties

“Will I go to jail?” is a question many people wonder after being charged with a DUI. Minnesota has four degrees of DUI charges from Fourth Degree DUI (a misdemeanor) to First Degree DUI (a felony). Having a high test reading (0.16 or higher), having a child under the age of 16 years in the vehicle, and having one of more prior DUI offense within 10 years are all “aggravating factors” and increase the seriousness of the charges.

Read More

Losing Your Driving Privileges

For many people, the revocation or cancellation of your driver’s license can be one of the most difficult consequences of a DUI/DWI arrest. The State can also impound your license plates and, in some cases, seize your vehicle. An experienced DUI/DWI attorney can protect your rights and challenge your driver’s license revocation and/or vehicle forfeiture.

Read More